Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Just got back from seeing The National, Modest Mouse, and R.E.M.

with 3 comments

It was a fun show! I got there late and only saw the last couple songs by The National, but I saw all of Modest Mouse and, of course, all of R.E.M.

I’ve never been able to really get Modest Mouse. What I heard of The National was pretty tight, though.

R.E.M. did a great set, although I was a bit disappointed they didn’t play Radio Free Europe. But they didn’t do Everybody Hurts, which is great, because it is one of the few R.E.M. songs I absolutely despise.

One of the cool things about Modest Mouse was their two drummers. I didn’t know they did that! I’m a sucker for dual drummers.

Anyhow, here are some pictures and some video.

Forgive the video quality. I had to shrink the file size and that reduced the FPS by half, plus uploading it changed the format to .flv which sort of weakens the quality further. The sound on the originals actually isn’t that bad! That surprised me.

Anyway, here goes:

A short Modest Mouse clip here.

R.E.M. – Living Well’s the Best Revenge here.

R.E.M. – Fall on Me here. (This should be longer, but apparently my camera’s battery decided to die and cut it off early or something?)

Sorry about the picture quality too, by the way. I can’t bring my nice D-SLR into Red Rocks (or most venues), so once it starts getting dark the camera starts to blow. I’m going to have to think of a way to sneak my D-SLR in in time for Monolith! :p

Written by M

June 4, 2008 at 4:12 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Everybody hurts is anoying.
    It really is.

    After such a long time since the last album dropped (I think), I didn’t think REM would be good anymore. I haven’t heard too much of their new material (not that I know if its new or not, i don’t usually follow them) but I am sure it will be better than Radioheads “In Rainbows”. Gah I hate that album.

    Teejay

    June 4, 2008 at 9:53 am

  2. I didn’t know you saw Modest Mouse. :[
    I am so jealous.
    I would like to see them, but the tickets are too expensive for me now:[
    I am sad, now. Thanks, Marshall.

    boohoohoo

    Briana

    June 9, 2008 at 5:44 am

  3. I’m still waiting for 1 more incredible modest mouse album to put them into my top 5 favorites. Johnny Marr brings so much

    rlundy82

    October 30, 2008 at 2:25 pm


Leave a Reply

