Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Spiritualized interview

with 2 comments

God help me for reading Pitchfork, but this came up in my RSS feed and it’s actually a fantastic interview.

J. Spaceman for life!

‘Pitchfork: Care to name any names?

JP: [laughs] No, you can fill in your own. You can fill in where you feel like they apply. A ton of stuff, you know? I’m not talking about the tiny little specific thing. I’m talking about a lot of music. It’s that kind of thing where people still talk about making songs for radio or doing a radio mix or something. The idea of making a record for the medium with which you’re going to try and sell that record is just kind of weird. I make records. I don’t make records…[breathes in]

People are now telling me, “Albums are dead. You’ve got to make your records in tiny, bite-size pieces people can download.” Well, I don’t want to fucking do that. I make albums. I make these things that have their own space and time, and they fit. There’s a link and a relationship between certain songs and certain ideas and certain themes. I’m kind of going, “What next? If you want me to do little bite-sized things, I’ll just do the chorus for you. Or I’ll just have them download the notes A and E.” You can read an excerpt from a novel or a book in a magazine, but you can’t deny that it’s from a book, you know?

I don’t make records for this medium with which we’re going to sell it. The selling of it can never be more important than what you’re actually making. There’s too much of that in the world– in everybody’s world, not just in music. There’s too much, “Are you hip to this kind of stuff?” “Hey, this is cool.” “Are you hip to it, because this is what we’re selling today?” I think it’s bullshit. I’m rambling now.’

Spiritualized – Ladies and Gentlemen We are Floating in Space:

I saw Cake last night and I’ll put up a review and some pictures tonight or tomorrow. It was fantastic.

Written by M

June 9, 2008 at 1:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

    Chris Moran

    June 9, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  2. Awesome. I never really was into Cake, though, or pitchfork…
    haha

    Teejay

    June 9, 2008 at 6:07 pm


Leave a Reply

