Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Our Flag is Hip-Hop and, uh, Bring Your Bibles.

with 4 comments

Reason Magazine, my favorite publication (outside of High Times, of course), has a piece up about hip-hop and dance crews that have sprung up around the world. It’s a little odd, but when I went to look up these guys on Youtube… damn, they can dance.

In other news, Pitchfork News tells me that the former drummer for Velocity Girl but otherwise unknown dude Jim Spellman got tasered (apparently he was in a Dischord band, though?). “It’s not often you get to see 1200 volts of electricity coursing through a noted indie rocker as he writhes in pain on the ground, but, there you go.” But oh how I would like that to be more of a regular occurrence! I’m looking at you Stephen Malkmus. And you, Jeff Mangum. And you, Win Butler. Your piece of dramatic prose in the form of a Barack Obama endorsement shows why your band sucks at writing songs.

I am watching Hillary Clinton in her victory speech in New Hampshire … they just threw a bunch of college kids behind her, and had her talk about student loans, and had her daughter come out for a long awkward hug … does anyone actually buy it? Surely young people are too media savvy to be fooled by this kind of shit.

Seems like a normal spiel, right? But wait for it, wait for it…

do we live in a democracy so we can just keep electing the same families?

Barack is the first candidate in my lifetime to strip some of this bullshit away, and I just hope we don’t blow this chance.

man if we miss this opportunity we don’t deserve it…how bad does it have to get?

fuck!!!!!!!!!

The Arcade Fire is a Canadian band and I was half hoping (well, okay, 100% hoping) Win Butler wasn’t an American citizen. This has ruined my day.

And now for something completely different. As it turns out, people take drugs and party at Bonnaroo. Shocked, shocked! The video is worth watching, but I can’t seem to embed it — so if you’re interested, it’s in the piece. “It’s just something evil and a bad drug… This is something we don’t see every days [sic]. When you buy LSD you buy it in what’s called a Bible. And there’s a thousand hits in a Bible.”

I find that last sentence very amusing.

Jemina Pearl rocks my socks as the kids she’s playing for at Warped might say. Hah, and I called the label forcing them to play Warped right! I’m seeing a definite pick up in fans for them, though. A lot of people are like, “OMG, DO YOU LIKE BYOP TOOOO?” It’s a fun interview, though. It also really backs up my argument that Stephen Malkmus should be tased. Oh, and how many times did she say “asshole”? Seriously grrrl!

Be Your Own PET – Bicycle, Bicycle, You Are My Bicycle

This is completely unrelated, but a friend of mine just IMed me it and I feel compelled to post it. Warning: extremely cute.

Written by M

June 13, 2008 at 3:14 pm

Posted in Commentary

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Could you sell a bible for a bible?

    I really love the “fuck!!!!” But in all seriousness, I do like the Arcade Fire and Neutral Milk Hotel (some). Not Pavement though. Their music is boring as hell and (apparently) Malkmus is a dick.

    Jacob Z

    June 14, 2008 at 12:27 am

  2. XD The reason I thought the Butler thing was hilarious was because when I originally saw it, it was being compared to a Pete Wentz publication on how much /he/ loved Barack Obama. And the Wentz thing was so much more lucid than the Butler thing. It made me giggle.

    It’s the opposite for me, though. I don’t really dig Pavement, but the Arcade Fire and NMH bore me a lot. I might just have a short attention span, though. Like the lyrics don’t grip me and the sound doesn’t grip me, so I just can’t find anything to get into. BUT I AM WEIRD.

    Marshall B

    June 14, 2008 at 2:18 am

  3. God I hate Pete Wentz.

    Jacob Z

    June 14, 2008 at 5:32 pm

  4. […] Does your favorite band have a great sense of direction and a nobel sense of justice — unlike Stephen Malkmus? Cool! They’re offering to show you around […]


Leave a Reply

