Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Johnny Rotten says Coldplay sucks. Pictures from the My Bloody Valentine show flow in. News on the Katy Perry front.

with 6 comments

Whew, what a title for you!

Let’s start with the last one first, because I just found out about it seconds ago and it makes me so incredibly giddy. Katy Perry was born Katy Hudson. What else has she done in her lively career? Oh, not much.

…Not much but release a Christian pop CD!

Photobucket

Mild commentary here: so here we have someone who went from writing about Jesus to loving the taste of cherry chapstick? That doesn’t seem contrived at all! Idolator has a summation of some recent reviews of her latest CD — you know, the one that deals with subject matter that completely offends all Biblical sensibility.

I’m partial to AMG’s description:

“The problem is not with Katy’s gender-bending, it’s that her heart isn’t in it; she’s just using it to get her places, so she sinks to crass, craven depths that turn One of the Boys into a grotesque emblem of all the wretched excesses of this decade.”

In other news, Johnny Rotten said something stupid to get attention and plug the Pistols’ new album — wait, is it news that Johnny Rotten says stupid things for attention and publicity? Either way, he’s now made it clear that he has distaste for Coldplay. Johnny pities “the poor bastards who have to watch them. They are utterly humourless. I met them a few years ago, said hello and realised they were just men in anoraks. They looked like a gang of little poncey masturbators. There is no fun, they don’t offer joy. Their music has a couple of quite nice tones here and there but it’s a box of tosh sold to slightly inadequate, half-baked people.” His whole deal is about getting attention, really. He’s the poseur he says everyone else is — and if he realizes it, joke’s on them. If he doesn’t, well, I think a trip or two to the psychiatrist’s may be in order.

News about My Bloody Valentine’s two reunion shows appears!

I’d move fast on the live recording of the show. I have a copy of it, so if you don’t get to it in time and want it, let me know. I’ve not listened to it yet, so maybe it sucks, but I’m hopeful!

Finally, as a special treat, Josh “I’m Never to Sick to Fight” Homme of Queens of the Stone Age fame (and myriad other acts) apparently flipped out at a young Norwegian lad for bottling him at a show. You gotta watch it for awhile if you want to see the whole context — or you can just flip to like… 3:30 or something to see the sparks fly.

From Idolator.

Finally guys, Jacob mentioned the other day having a site email address. Now we do! Email us at any time at music.zzen@gmail.com. With the two z’s. If you’re an author for the site, get in touch with me on Myspace, Facebook, AIM, or MSN and I will give you the password and stuff.

Written by M

June 16, 2008 at 4:49 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Katy Hudson? 0_0
    Christian? “0_0”
    Didn’t she do a song called I kissed a girl? Thats not very…er…christian. Oh wait, i just realized that was what the whole cherry chapstick thing was about…nvrmind.

    Teejay

    June 16, 2008 at 6:36 pm

  2. NEW SEX PISTOLS?!?!?OMGAZ!!!

    Jacob Z

    June 16, 2008 at 6:51 pm

  3. As a random fan that stumbled upon this website, I just wanted to clarify something.. Katy Perry was born Katy Hudson, and yes she did release a Christian CD. She was also raised by a Pastor, and I’m sure struggled with her faith and religion for some time as a we all have. (I hate to make a blanket statement, but I don’t know anyone who hasn’t questioned faith at one time or another). I’m not surprised at all, call it rebellion, whatever, but she’s just growing up! I do not see this as a “ploy” to sell records at all. Katy is so open and there with her fans, she is totally legit. And who knows? She very may well return to her Christian roots one day, but jeez, let her just be a young girl who’s having fun, even if it just is for rebellion sake. Isn’t that what fun music is all about?

    As a Christian girl who understands the meaning of growing and evolving and learning, I get it. And that is just my opinion, so please don’t blast me. 🙂 haha

    ::Steps down off soapbox::

    Shannon

    June 19, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  4. Nah, I get rebellion. It would make sense if it didn’t come across as the flavor of the week, to me, anyway. It seems very predictable and it seems like it revels in a sort of excess that mature people shouldn’t. Either way, on a personal level, songs like Ur So Gay bother me because of their absurdity and because of fans’ attempts to convince others that songs like that are /not/ homophobic. I listen to some very graphic music, but I draw the line at racism and homophobia.

    But no, rebellion makes the perfect amount of sense if it just didn’t seem so contrived.

    Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts. (: We actively encourage reader participation and it’s great of you to take a look at something new!

    Marshall B

    June 19, 2008 at 8:40 pm

  5. […] and threatened him with things that aren’t exactly legal to do to a minor. Here’s the video. Tagged with: Best Albums in the last 25 years, Entertainment Weekly, homophobia, Josh Homme, […]

  6. Coldplay does indeed suck!

    Mike

    June 27, 2008 at 12:05 pm


Leave a Reply

