Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Gene Simmons thinks Radiohead is boring and because you lazy people can’t go out and buy something from a major label, he won’t release another CD. Oh, and some other news.

with 4 comments

Philosopher for the ages Gene Simmons is looking at you, Oinkers and Wafflers.

“The record industry is dead. It’s six feet underground and unfortunately the fans have done this. They’ve decided to download and file share. There is no record industry around so we’re going to wait until everybody settles down and becomes civilized. As soon as the record industry pops its head up we’ll record new material.”

Gene Simmons

You know it’s true! How do you feel about that, Alan Ellis? You cost us at least one more KISS record!

But Gene doesn’t, or can’t, stop there. In his words:

“I admire bands like Radiohead, but the idea of being that serious? Fuck that, get up on stage and blow shit up. If you’re not fulfilling the visual part it’s like watching a movie with your eyes closed. One of the biggest compliments we get is (when people say), ‘I fucking hate their music but that’s the best show I ever saw in my life.'”

I’m with him on this one, though, because Radiohead can be really boring and stuffy.

But as if God decided today was the day to argue with Gene Simmons, these numbers came out of Apple.

In other news, Stereogum is still really into Sigur Rós’s live shows and is telling you to see them this fall! Quotes like this are why I will never go to Bonnaroo, “Sigur Rós are an atmospheric pumpkin, and this year Halloween is Christmas.”

I am heartbroken, because as Jacob has been mentioning, Kevin Shields, the man who promises he’ll release something new “just next year” has caused a delay of the re-releases of Loveless and Isn’t Anything. Apparently the liner notes aren’t just right yet.

But someone else who has been taking his sweet time lately, Axl Rose, is in the news again. Guns N’ Roses’ much delayed, nigh mythical beast of an album Chinese Democracy has apparent leaked a few bits and pieces.

Mercury Rev is releasing two CDs in September, and one of them is free.

Finally, megajackass Devendra Banhart is now in a band: Megapuss. Why can’t we just let this era die?! For the love of God!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gene Simmons makes me lol. And frightens me a little (though not in the way he’d maybe like to).

    Also, sweet. New Mercury Rev is a good thing.

    I like Cripple Crow, but DB def gets old after a while. I dunno if I can even listen to that in one sitting.

    And have you heard the GnR stuff? And if so, does it suck as much as everybody seems pretty sure it’s going to?

    Sarah K

    June 19, 2008 at 5:53 pm

  2. I hate GnR to begin with so I couldn’t offer an unbiased opinion. <_< XD But I’ve not listened to the leaked stuff because I don’t really have a huuuuge interest in it.

    Marshall B

    June 19, 2008 at 6:12 pm

  3. People like Gene Simmons piss me off. I don’t even have a wit-embeded comment that would make every reader draw unthought of comparisons between him and some mega-douche. That’s how much he pisses me off.

    Jacob Z

    June 19, 2008 at 7:11 pm

  4. haha I heard about the leak of Chinese Democracy earlier. It made me lol, because people actually anticipated this album to be good haha. 14 years in the making from GnR doesn’t sound good to my ears.

    rippingcorpse

    June 19, 2008 at 11:58 pm


Leave a Reply

