Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Oasis to make us suffer three more albums, Ben Folds to release a new CD, and the LA Times talks to us about the recent history of the CD. (Themes?)

with 5 comments

Ben Folds played some new stuff at Bonnaroo. Awesome, huh? …Except that I’m really not digging Free Coffee at all. Hiroshima was a little eh as well. Errant Dog is catchy and fun, though.

Ben Folds – Errant Dog

Oasis is going to write a lot of new songs that sound absolutely the same as their previous work — which is to say, a little drab. The more things change, I guess.

The LA Times LA Times informs us of the rapidly decreasing cost of CDs. Commenters, what do you think the future of CDs and/or music pricing is?

Written by M

June 20, 2008 at 3:11 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oasis and new album doesn’t go hand on hand.

    rippingcorpse

    June 20, 2008 at 3:21 am

  2. Marshall B

    June 20, 2008 at 3:29 am

  3. I haven’t actually bought myself a CD in years. I personally think they are wasteful, overpriced and the last thing I need is more stuff around my house. I love that I have an entire personal radio station of music that I know I like on my hard drive, iPod or phone. When one sees the cost of getting a CD manufactured, it becomes quickly obvious that the process of the major labels trying to make up for recording, marketing, and administrative costs is what drives the cost up more than anything. The only occasions where I do get CDs any longer are when I am trying to support and independent band who is self-releasing something, or when I get one as a gift. I should add that I do not pirate digital music—I pay for all of my MP3 downloads, be it eMusic or the iTunes store, or even Snocap on MySpace. I believe that musicians do deserve to get paid for their art, but that doesn’t have to mean CD sales.

    BretV

    June 21, 2008 at 12:13 pm

  4. Hear, hear!

    Marshall B

    June 21, 2008 at 3:38 pm

  5. […] bookmarks tagged ben folds five Oasis to make us suffer three more albums, Ben Fol… saved by 2 others     NeonHurricane bookmarked on 06/27/08 | […]


Leave a Reply

