Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Band worth listening to: Moose

with 2 comments

I’ve heard Moose credited as the first shoegaze band by Wikipedia (PopMatters corroborates this a little and provides an interesting background of the genre) , for whatever that is worth.

Regardless of whether or not it caused the term “shoegaze” to arise, the band started out with very awesome shoegaze effects, no doubt. Their first EPs Jack and Cool Breeze feature some absolutely incredible songs. After the debut of the EPs, as Moose moved into full releases, they began to gain an indie pop sound. Honey Bee is actually a very fine example of their poppy side. The band itself is highly underrated and seems to be passed over because of the notoriety of bigger bands like Ride and My Bloody Valentine.

Finding their EPs is hard work. I managed to track them down on OiNK of all places (I try so hard not to do things like that, but when things seem to be out of print, there’s not much else left). I don’t know if they’re listed on iTunes or emusic now, but in the past, they were not. Emusic does have Honey Bee, though, and that is worth a purchase.

Here is an example of their shewgays side with the song Suzanne. It’s a moody, gloomy song (not unlike most shoegaze), but one I have listened to over and over again because of its rather catchy, mesmerizing, dreamy sound.

Another great, perhaps even better, example of their shoegaze sound comes from the fantastic EP Jack. I adore the lyrics, “Just like a little boy, I wonder why,” for some reason. I’m also somewhat jealous of the commenter who says he saw them open for Blur back in the day. Bastard.

Finally, a taste of their poppier side with I Wanted to See You to See if I Wanted You off of Honey Bee.

Please, support this band! They deserve it. It amazes me when I look back at old shoegaze videos like these and see that they were actually played on MTV — you know, back when MTV played some unique, independent stuff. Too bad that seems lost. 120 Minutes is now featured late nights on VH1 Classic, for those interested.

Enjoy!

Written by M

June 25, 2008 at 4:12 am

Posted in Plugs

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I’ve heard you mention Moose before, but I’ve never really heard much other than clips by them. But I really like that last song.

    Jacob Z

    June 25, 2008 at 11:37 am

  2. Likewise, I’d heard of them, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually heard them before.

    I dig though–I’ll keep an eye out for their stuff.

    Sarah K

    June 25, 2008 at 2:36 pm


Leave a Reply

