Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

The Faint

with 2 comments

The Faint have been around for a while. Conor Oberst was a part of their ranks before Bright Eyes even existed. They’ve long been gaining steam in the Omaha area with the rest of the Saddle Creek crew, but with their release of Danse Macabre they finally received some well-deserved national and international merit. It’s been four years since the release of their last work, Wet From Birth, and they’re finally at it again. Fasciinatiion is supposed to released in early August on their own blank.wav records, rather than Saddle Creek. I haven’t been able to find any tracks from it, and their MySpace player won’t load on my crappy computer, so I have not heard a sample from it. But I’m excited and you should be too. Anyone that’s into any sort of electronica music probably knows the Faint pretty well, as they’re hailed as one of the only true ‘new wave’ bands left around. They do a great job of playing the techno/house/new wave/post-punk thing without sounding exclusively for people that are into electronica. On top of that, they’re one of the best live band I’ve ever seen.

Like I said, I couldn’t score any tracks or videos off the new album, but here they are performing Paranoiattack on the Jimmy Kimmel Show.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like Blank-Wave Arcade but haven’t paid that much attention since that one. I will have to look into this new one, though (and revisit the last couple).

    Sarah K

    June 25, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  2. Ah, somehow Blank-Wave Arcade slipped my mind while writing this. Maybe because I don’t own it in a hard copy form…

    But anyway, Wet From Birth has some really good tracks on it. I would check out Southern Belles in London.

    Jacob Z

    June 25, 2008 at 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

