Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Coldplay looking for openers

with 4 comments

At four or five spots on their upcoming tour, Coldplay is opening up the spot of their opening act to audition via YouTube videos. In all honesty, I think this is a great idea. Some band or musician will get to open for one of the biggest acts in music. Perhaps we’ll see more of this in the future?

My main problem with this, though, is that I’m unsure of which joke I should put in here.

I was going to say “Coldyplay is looking for openers, unless your Creaky Boards, because they already have enough of your material on their set list.” Too easy, I know.

But then I considered “Coldplay is looking for openers because they’re out of songs to write.”

There’s this one, too, though: “Coldplay is giving one band a chance to open for U2…I mean Coldplay.”

I also thought about “Coldplay will pick the most mediocre band of the submissions…”

Thanks a lot, Chris Martin. I hope you know you’re not making my job easy.

Here’s the Pitchfork article.

Written by Jacob Z

June 26, 2008 at 1:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi. I’m looking to build up incoming links for my blog. Would you like to exchange blogroll links with me? If yes, please visit: http://greatdebater.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/why-i-blog/ and leave your URL there.

    CM'Blog

    June 26, 2008 at 1:01 am

  2. I admit. I lol’d.

    Marshall B

    June 26, 2008 at 1:28 am

  3. hahahahaha genius indeed

    rippingcorpse

    June 26, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  4. Santagold opened for Coldplay in Montreal… Their was also a Dj but i couldnt tell you his name.

    Fortunately the DJ was better than Santagold.

    Jay

    July 30, 2008 at 11:29 am


Leave a Reply

