Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

FNMTV fans want more singing!

with 6 comments

From Idolator comes news that teenagers who can’t spell don’t like what last.fm tells me is a noise rock / shoegaze band called No Age (I’ve only heard their name before, so I’m just going to trust the wisdom of crowds here when it comes to their sound).

I love comments on internet videos.

When a comment begins with, “but i agree with mamii4u2envii,” there’s just something that brings a smile to my eyes and a bounce to my step. What did mamii say, though? “sucked.lol.i love punk and rock music but this video sucked.the guitar was so loud you couldn’t even hear the vocalist.and the video looked low rent.lol.i thought it was going to be a cool song but i couldn’t even hear the lyrics=[[“

I see. Punk is known for its hi-fi production and gorgeous music videos.

“This video is cool, but the sound effects are like a vaqqum machine…seriously this song is weeeiirrdd =/”

My God, could you imagine what they’d say if you put a Lightning Bolt-type band up?

Okay, okay, “It’s 2 min. into the video and I still don’t understand what the hell is going on! I’m surprised anybody watched the video this long!”

But you know, I’m actually going to give MTV props for putting something up that appears to have challenged how these people see music. Maybe it’s not the greatest song of all time, but at least it’s not Vampire Weekend or Panic at the Disco — bands which are rigidly formulaic.

Written by M

June 30, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Posted in Commentary

Tagged with ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. To me, they’ll always be Panic! at the Disco…the good ol’ days.

    Jacob Z

    June 30, 2008 at 4:40 pm

  2. No Age are pretty decent. Not FANTASTIC, but decent.

    Also, as a side note, I used to use Merzbow’s 1930 to scare people out of my dorm room when my suite-mates were having parties. You should’ve heard some of the comments THAT got. Ha.

    Sarah K

    June 30, 2008 at 4:49 pm

  3. I don’t know if these kids are just too impatient or just try to hate everything by default but still it’s pretty cool that Mtv is changing the status quo.

    SCVegan

    June 30, 2008 at 8:55 pm

  4. True dat. I was actually a little surprised at the comments, though, as I thought that these would-be “hipsters” would be more than willing to at least pretend to like something like that.

    Jacob Z

    July 1, 2008 at 12:14 am

  5. From what I understand the audience who saw it premiere on FNMTV gave it a bigger applause than T.I.’s video. The difference here is that a lot of these kids commenting on the website are probably watching it for the first time on-line. I would imagine some may have slower internet connections, other are multi-tasking with myspace or whatever, some skipping around the song rather than watching it in entirety.

    scvegan

    July 1, 2008 at 1:08 am

  6. Aha. I did not know this. That makes much more sense.

    Jacob Z

    July 1, 2008 at 11:27 am


Leave a Reply

