Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Avoid any and all Viacom videos on Youtube

with 3 comments

In fact, boycott Viacom in general — except for The-N, because we like The-N’s website.

An idiot judge (hat tip to Mashable, so that we don’t sued!) has ordered Google hand over private data of potentially huge numbers of users.

This pertains to music because if you have ever watched any music videos whose rights are ultimately in the possession of Viacom, you’re pretty much screwed. It’s highly unlikely you would face any repercussions, but man, I’d hate to be one of the guys that did. I don’t defend piracy, but I also don’t defend ridiculous demands like access to my IP address and my login information. Youtube is world’s away from something like OiNK. On OiNK, you know you’re downloading an entire CD. On Youtube, I have no memory of watching a video owned by Viacom, but then that doesn’t mean I haven’t. It’s so much harder to remember everything that’s been watched on Youtube, because it all runs together after awhile. I don’t remember what I’ve embedded or what I’ve watched.

Like Mashable pointed out, the implication here is that Viacom is making this move to threaten Google and Youtube’s viewers and users. Cool? No, not cool at all. Google has more or less tried to defend its user’s privacy in most cases, at least compared to other large internet companies.

Like I said, piracy is piracy. But in the case of Youtube, I just don’t think a lot of people thought about copyright issues when they were watching videos. People who use invite-only torrent sites are going to be aware of copyrights and the legality of what they’re doing. People see Youtube and they go, “Wow, this is a huge company with all these videos, so it must be cool, right?” I just can’t seem to find it in me to criticize people who watched Viacom’s videos on Youtube, really.

Oh, bonus:

Kylie Minogue has now saved exactly one more life than My Chemical Romance has. High five, Kylie.

Finally, Pitchfork has a handy chart out listing many, many upcoming album releases.

Written by M

July 3, 2008 at 5:46 pm

Posted in Commentary, News

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations, Metallica, you’ve been trumped in internet douche-baggery.

    Jacob Z

    July 3, 2008 at 11:10 pm

  2. That being said, I’ve always respected how far Google goes for its users, comparatively.

    Jacob Z

    July 3, 2008 at 11:12 pm

  3. Definitely on both accounts. Google’s had its faults, but srsly, I’d trust them over Microsoft or Yahoo. Or Apple, for that matter.

    Marshall B

    July 4, 2008 at 2:33 am


Leave a Reply

