Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Fer Sure, a Tribute

with 5 comments

My name is Marshall. I have a problem. An addiction.

An addiction to awesome.

Myspace band The Medic Droid wrote what is one of the absolute worst songs of this decade: Fer Sure. It’s definitely up there with I Kissed a Girl.

But is Fer Sure really that bad? You’ll get to decide for yourself in a minute!

Fer Sure is really, I think, a poetic ballad about snorting ejaculate and having hottt sex in the backseats of cars (or perhaps “fuck me in the backseat” is an allusion to anal sex?). It is incredibly self-aware and hip, mentioning Myspace in a totally cool, yet subtle, way. “Myspace me, fer sure!” It also picks up on social fakes, who end up stabbing you in the back! It mentions stilettos, and honestly, who doesn’t love those? Not to mention the fact that the vocalist actually says “jk” and “lol” out loud.

Is there really a thing not to love about this song? It depicts graphic sex, womanizing (“I want to see your panties drop girl, now”), Myspace, drug use, and social angst. Is there nothing more epic to write a song about? I think not.

Over the months since I first heard the song, I have made a habit of collecting and viewing for my own sick pleasure various fan renditions of the song.

Now, I don’t mean to make fun of these people directly — at all — because that’d be, like, uncool. Still, it’s a spectacle all its own.

I’ll provide a couple thoughts on the creativity and coolness of each video, because I have a trained eye for this sort of thing now and I think I can astutely judge each one.

So, enjoy (or don’t):

Ahh, a classic. This one is amazing because of how absolutely detailed and creative it gets. You’ll find most of them are people sitting in their pink and green bedrooms, poorly lip syncing. But not this one; no, this one is brilliant.

Speaking of pink and green (and, uh, hair), here’s a gem. I’m wondering if this guy is parodying this whole scene. Gotta wonder. Always. Well, maybe he is legit. Also, is he German?

Thanks to you, Jew and Goat, for reminding me why I hated being 14. It’s interesting, because in general, the guys (not the guys who look like wildly effeminate, though) doing the Fer Sure covers get much better feedback than the girls. So if any guys reading this are looking for chicks, I’d recommend teasing your hair, putting on a stupid hat, getting some snake bites, and making a Fer Sure video to put on Youtube. Aight? Aight.

There are no words.

This is just epic beyond belief. They even have American Gladiator style names like “Astro”! It’s 7 minutes of… something. I’m not sure what, but something. Also, I’m gonna have that song at the end of the video stuck in my head, like, forever.

This one is a little sentimental. It’s the first Fer Sure tribute I saw and it’ll always have a place in my heart.

“But,” you say, “it’s Youtube. Where are the Fer Sure AMVs?” Look no further! Nothing says AMV like Naruto (and if not Naruto, Kingdom Hearts). So here we go!

Along with AMVs comes the Youtube tradition of Chipmunks’ versions of songs. So I give to you, the Chipmunk’d out version of Fer Sure.

Written by M

July 7, 2008 at 1:00 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    Karen Halls

    Karen Halls

    July 7, 2008 at 1:32 am

  2. GAHH. Scary.

    Eli

    July 7, 2008 at 11:58 am

  3. Oh My God

    Fuck, I’d rather perform the ritual of the cutting of the genitals rather than see a bunch of scene guys say “fuck me in the backseat”.

    rippingcorpse

    July 7, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  4. I hope that guy in the fourth video is as ashamed as he should be.

    Jacob Z

    July 10, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  5. The only one I was able to watch all the way through was the Chipmunk version. All the rest…ugh.

    Esther

    July 23, 2008 at 4:29 am


Leave a Reply

