Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

5 Albums Everyone Should Own (or at least check out)

with 3 comments

I don’t think my music collection is holy. In fact, I know there are some major holes in it. But I also know that I have some winners, and whatever you’re into, here are five albums out of my collection that everyone should check out:

The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me-Brand New:

Of their three albums, the latest is definitely Brand New’s masterpiece. I would go as far to say that they’ve hit their peak with this one. The album is full of self-exploration on things like religion and love and sex and all that other stuff you can expect from Jesse Lacey. The sound of the album is almost…ghostly throughout. The best track on the album goes to “Jesus Christ.”

The Ugly Organ-Cursive

A lot of people prefer domestica to this one, but it’s just so dang hard for me to argue with how loud and full of discord The Ugly Organ is. The lyrics are very emotional and personal, as they always are with Tim Kasher, and that adds a completely new dimension to the album, as the listener gets to feel and hear and know what each song’s characters are facing.

Little by Little…-Harvey Danger

This is probably the catchiest album I own. Sean Nelson’s voice is so very smart on Little by Little… and the lyrics are clever and poppy, yet are deep and real at the same time–a balance that’s hard to strike in modern music.

The Moon and Antarctica-Modest Mouse

No one ever really knows what Issac Brock is talking about on Modest Mouse album’s. And it seems that the earlier into their work you go, the more and more twisted and unorganized the music becomes. As the release between The Lonesome Crowded West and Good News for People Who Love Bad News, this album hits every genius that is the mesmerizing, yet confusing Modest Mouse while not missing out on the more commercial side, which, without, makes Modest Mouse sound almost unapproachable.

OK Computer-Radiohead

This one was almost to obvious. No one can have a good pretentious list without having thisalbum on it. But I truly do love this album, and right now it’s my favorite Radiohead album. I think this is the reason: on almost every album I have, the music is set up as such: music /and/ vocals; but on Radiohead albums, especially this one, Thom Yorke’s voice becomes less of a seperate entity from the music and more of just another instrument that blends seemlessly.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Depending on the mood I was in, I could put a Harvey Danger CD on it, ayhh think. I’ve no clue what mine would look like. Haha.

    Marshall B

    July 14, 2008 at 4:15 am

  2. Definitely a good list. I’m kind of pondering my own as well also. It’s a TOUGH call.

    Sarah K

    July 14, 2008 at 10:54 pm

  3. It was for me, too so I just sort of ended up with a random sampling. There are plenty of albums I could have just as easily listed. I’d be interested to see what was on your guys’

    Jacob Z

    July 20, 2008 at 7:12 pm


Leave a Reply

