Music Zen!

Your argument is sound, nothing but sound

Cold War Kids: Loyalty to Loyalty

leave a comment »

I’m in love with the Cold War Kids. Their first album, Robbers and Cowards, is genius track after genius track about a myriad of things from a man on death row to some pretty messed up self-examination. On top of that, they put on the best live show I’ve ever seen. So, naturally, I was very excited when I found out they slapped a release date on their newest album, Loyalty to Loyalty : September 3.

They haven’t released any tracks (and we haven’t been fortunate enough for any to leak *wink*) except for “Something is Not Right With Me.” It can be found on their MySpace. It’s kind of short, but it’s definitely a pretty good song. The structure is a little more organized than what most of the songs from Robbers were; there are a lot less random noises. The lyrics and the vocals are great. Nathan Willet has a way of making the listener feel the way he does. Throughout the chorus, I get a pang of pity, as Willet shouts “something is not right with me/something is not right with me/something is not right with me/how was I supposed to know?”

It’s a great song, and definitely an album I’ll be picking up. If you haven’t heard much of the Cold War Kids’ stuff, check out “Hang Me Up to Dry” and “Hospital Beds.”

Written by Jacob Z

July 24, 2008 at 10:49 am

Leave a Reply

